Gujarat election results: BJP seen winning 100 seats, Congress may bag 79

Vijay Rupani, who was earlier trailing, is now leading over Congress’ Indranil Rajyaguru in Rajkot West seat


Gujarat election results 2017: The BJP was on its way to retain power in Gujarat for the record sixth time, as the party was leading in 100 seats and won four others, according to the latest counting figures.
The Congress emerged victorious in one seat and was ahead of rivals in 80 others.

The Election Commission has so far declared five results, of which four seats have been won by the BJP and one by the Congress.

ALSO READ: LIVE updates: BJP bags Gujarat, Himachal; Rahul says satisfied with result

The Election Commission figures showed that the NCP was leading in one seat and the Bhartiya Tribal Party of Chottu Vasava in two seats. Three independents were also leading.

To form a government in the state, a party or a coalition needs at least 92 seats in the 182-member Assembly.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, who was earlier trailing after the count of postal ballots, is now leading over Congress’ Indranil Rajyaguru in Rajkot West seat.

Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel, who was also trailing from Mehsana against Congress candidate Jivabhai Patel earlier, is now leading by a margin of over 7,000 votes.

ALSO READ: MARKETS LIVE: Indices recover as BJP leads in Gujarat; Nifty above 10,400

BJP leader and state fisheries minister Babubhai Bokhiriya defeated senior Congress leader Arjun Modhwadia in Porbandar.

BJP’s Suresh Patel defeated Congress candidate Shweta Brahmbhatt in Ahmedabad’s Maninagar, the former constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, by 75,199 votes.

In Mahuva seat of Bhavnagar, BJP’s Raghav Makwana defeated independent Kanu Kalsaria.

The BJP also won the Umbergaon seat in Valsad.

The Congress won Mahudha seat in Kheda district where its nominee Indrajitsinh Parmar defeated BJP’s Bharatsinh Parmar by 13,601 votes…..Click here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s